So, last week was fabulous.  Mostly.

We went camping for the week to celebrate Canada Day, five glorious days of nature.  There was swimming, campfires, and a ginormous thunderstorm with 100km/h winds!  My kids loved it.  My dog spent most nights under the table steadfastly refusing to emerge.  I am pretty sure he does not understand why his people would opt to live in a large canvas bag rather than their wood framed home.

There was homemade chicken burgers, with lettuce, tomato, and red onion.  There was grilled asparagus.  Perfectly seasoned steak, “campfire” potatoes, even a fire pit pizza “pocket”.  Copious amounts of fresh fruit and veggies were consumed along with enormous amounts of water (it was 43 degrees Celsius according to the humidex).

The only down shot to the entire trip was that I left my thyroid medication at home.  So by the third day I was pretty much in a coma.  Yeah, comas are awesome.  I slept pretty awesome though.  Fresh air and a cool breeze are the perfect recipe for sleeping.

We came home and hit up the farmers’ market on Saturday morning so we could top up our fresh produce.  We bought some gorgeous looking kale (yeah, I get how ridiculous that sounds) and some super fragrant dill weed.  Then we took the kiddos to see Despicable Me 2 – hilarious!  I love the minions, they seriously make those movies fantastic.

Sunday was weigh in day.  Oh awesome.  I love when weigh-ins fall on a) the first day of your period; b) at the very end of a vacation.  So, I sucked it up, and plopped myself on the scale.  Down 2 pounds this week!  Yeah!!! Vacation weight loss, LOVING IT!

To celebrate this fantastic event I promptly went over to my bookcase and pulled out every diet book, every magazine, every “special” edition I own and immediately deposited them in the recycling bin.  Then I gathered up my food journals and did the same.  Next up was the interweb.  All those pages I had bookmarked – gone; forums – gone; facebook pages – gone; all of it…..disappeared.  Sometimes there really is such a thing as too much information.  This is a total “back to basics” event for me.  It is so unbelievably liberating to actually throw “experts” in the garbage.  Try it.

Obviously, I still have my small collection of recipe/cook books.  I also still follow all of two “professional” blogs but that’s because they are normal people and not passing themselves off as dietary gurus.  Ugh, I am tired of gurus.  The dietary “elite”.  I am happy you lost six thousand pounds eating banana leaves and dried termites, but you are a weirdo.

That is pretty much all my kiddos will give me time for today.  Tomorrow, I am continuing on with my month of changes and new attitudes.  For starters….I cut off 14 inches of hair.  I went from mid back to pixie.  I will tell you all about it in the morning 🙂

Ciao bella!

