Okay, admittedly I have been slacking in the posting department.  Life kinda got in the way.  Two rounds of company, birthdays, camping, school, gym, food prep….I kinda ran out of time in the day.  While I love you all, my kids kinda trump just about everything.  Rainy days always equal more hands on mom related work than sunny, throw the kids outside and chill out on the deck type days.

So, what have I been up too?  Well, I have started running intervals.  I suck.  Yup.  This body was not built for running.  It may have been at one time, but it is currently not in running condition.  Intervals are fun.  I can crank out about 3Km – without stopping.  I am aiming for 10km by fall and then a half marathon in the  summer next year.  That should be fun…right?

As for the gym, I am sorta on a hiatus.  Not so much because I don’t want to go, I am just in the middle of potty training my 3 year old and, well, to be honest I just don’t want to be dealing with “accidents” anywhere but in my own house…or possibly the park across the street.  I intend to go back once the training is complete besides, if I can hack out two more months they will both be in school in the morning and I won’t have to worry about dragging either of them with me when they don’t want to go.  Sweet, sweet freedom.  In the meantime I have some free weights at home, as well as tubing, an exercise ball and more than enough DVDs to ensure I am not totally bored out of my mind.

Food.  Well, I have completely separated myself from the Whole30 community and most of the Paleo community as well.  Not because I don’t approve of the food, the lifestyle or anything like that, but I have noticed a definite shift in the mentality on some of the community pages I used to belong to.  There seems to be a growing tribe of militant cavemen (and women) out there and I just don’t have the time to deal with that kinda of crap.  I am noticing a lot of bashing and flame throwing that is just unnecessary.  Sadly, the community is what has turned me away from the “movement”.  I don’t deal in absolutes.  The universe is not built on absolutes and the paleo community at large seems to be dealing more and more in this “my way or the highway” type crap.  There seem to be a lot of very vocal individuals that are confusing their eating habits with their identity and it is just sad.

So, where does that leave me?  In the same place I was before.  Really.  I still make my own food from scratch.  I still ensure I have adequate fat intake.  I still enjoy steak, fish, poultry, game and the like.  I still consume copious amounts of fresh veggies daily.  I just also enjoy quinoa, wild rice, and lentils.  I don’t usually eat breads or pastas but, when I do I thoroughly enjoy it.  I don’t have to monitor who I tell about my fabulous bowl of beef and lentil soup for fear of the paleo police popping up and telling me how I am going to die of ABS because I ate lentils and now my guts are inflamed for a month and I may just have a heart attack.

Anyway, toodles poodles.

I shall make an effort to post much, much more frequently.

