I have been writing my first post for a few days now.  Three to be exact.  I have no idea where to start or what to write about.  So, given my complete lack of direction and bizarre internet writer’s block I will just talk about food.

I am planning on starting my second Whole30 on March 1, 2013.  For those of you who do not know what a Whole30 is you can read about it here, it is an excellent program set up by Melissa and Dallas Hartwig, it follows the paleo template for eating but takes it up a notch by requiring you to remove all sugar (table, synthetic, honey, agave, stevia etc.).  It also requires you to avoid any  paleo-ized foods that could stand in for desserts or other off-limit, potentially derailing foods (pizza, breads, muffins, cookies etc.) they have a term SWYPO which pretty much sums it up.  I am not going to go into the details of “paleo” but if you want, you can read about it here  or here.  There are countless sites but between Mark Sisson, Robb Wolf, and Whole 9 you will know all about this style of living (note I said living and not eating).

As you may or may not be aware, removing all sugar and processed foods from your diet is not something you just randomly decide to do at 4 o’clock in the afternoon – well, in my case it totally was, but I am not normal (and I am cool with that)- however, the actual preparation required to do something like this is nothing short of overwhelming.

If you go right now and look in your fridge all those salad dressings…sugar, condiments….sugar, beverages….sugar, sauces…sugar, and if you have packaged food in your cupboards or freezer…I am 99% positive they aren’t compliant either.

That, my non-existent friends, brings me to this morning.  It was a prep day.  Salad dressings first.  There was the italian style and the balsamic style salad dressings.  Then there was the actual chopping of veggies to make the salad.  Then I moved on to roasted sweet potatoes.  Next up there was the chilli lime shrimp I put together, then the chicken that needed to be thawed, oh and eggs, there are always, at least, half a dozen hardboiled eggs in my fridge. I will post pictures but my kids stole my phone and, well, I haven’t found it yet. So food pictures will have to wait until later in the day.

You may be thinking this was a tonne of prep work but it really wasn’t, all told I think I put in a whole hour. My oven and my awesome marinating bowl did most of the work.  I just loaded the dishwasher and drank coffee with coconut milk (which is the most divine thing ever – I have heard butter is awesome, but I just can’t bring myself to go there yet).

You see, much like CrossFit (which I loved but am not currently doing) I am going to “ramp on” to my second Whole3o.  I can’t help but think (okay, I desperately want to believe) gradually eliminating a few things prior to my start date might make it easier.  It’s a shame I didn’t start this blog January 1, I went a bit nutso the first 14 days.  I was a pure DELIGHT to be around.  Seriously, my 3 year old put me on a time out.

So, that is pretty much today.  Tomorrow we can chat about exercise.  I have a love/hate relationship with the gym.

